2019 Elantra GT 2.0L NA - preferred - Hyundai Elantra GT Turbo & Elantra GT N Performance Forum
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-03-2020, 11:04 PM Thread Starter

2019 Elantra GT 2.0L NA - preferred

I'm new to the modding community and I'm having trouble with a couple things.

I've been looking threw the site trying to find people with the 2.0L motor but cant find anything. Are aftermarket parts like intakes, ECU flashes, or exhausts interchangeable with the 1.6T motor? if can parts be easily fabbed up to match? or have i just been looking in the wrong places?
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-04-2020, 01:24 PM

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by antfrno View Post
I'm new to the modding community and I'm having trouble with a couple things.

I've been looking threw the site trying to find people with the 2.0L motor but cant find anything. Are aftermarket parts like intakes, ECU flashes, or exhausts interchangeable with the 1.6T motor? if can parts be easily fabbed up to match? or have i just been looking in the wrong places?
To directly answer your question: No. The 2.0 is a Nu engine, and the 1.6T is a Gamma II.

To explain in more detail. There is little you can do to that engine, performance-wise. And if there is, the Dollars-to-Horsepower ratio is abysmal. At least it's the GDI head and not the Atkinson head, but Nu is an undersquare engine, so, it is tuned for driveability and broader torque range, and you can't coax more peak HP out of revs. You'll spend a lot of money to get up to maybe.. what... 190HP? 200HP if you're lucky? You only have 2L of displacement to work with, and the cost of adding an aftermarket turbo kit is pointless when Hyundai has other engines that just mount right up. Including the Theta II N engine itself. Bet you could pull a Gamma II 1.6T from a wrecked car for not too much money.