Hyundai Elantra GT banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2018 gt sport with tech pack here...just passed 65k mile mark and upon startup this morning...the dreaded check engine light.

Car seems to drive fine and I have regularly fed it premium(or at least midgrade octane rating fuel) until just a few wks ago (gas prices here in CA has been nuts lately).

I'm a teacher and I will not be able to get to the dealership until about two wks later. Anyone else have a check engine light come on, in their gt sport or n-line? What are some possible causes? Emissions? Faulty O2 sensor?

Thanks in advance for your input and hope you all have a safe wknd.

-Peter

·
Registered
2019 GT N-Line; Fiery Red 6MT
87 Posts
It could be a number of things.
Most common code is the EVAP system, which is usually no big deal. But it could also be something more serious

I would try to find someone with a scanner to pull up the code to confirm. You can also buy cheap bluetooth OBDII readers and use the 'torque' app as a cheap alternative.

·
Registered
2019 Elantra GT N-Line w/Tech package
37 Posts
Thank you. Will try to get a scanner this wk. 👍
Some auto parts stores will even do the scan for you for free (they hope you'll buy the parts from them).
It can be worth seeing if an AutoZone will do that for you.
As said before, it could just be the evap system (loose gas cap). But there's a lot of other things that are "you can wait a week, but it's important", or "you shouldn't wait at all". Best to do that scan and make sure.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Did not know this! Thank you for the suggestion. I have a friend who has a scanner(but lived about an hr away). I think I will pay him a visit with a six pack of beers after work, this week. :)

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·